Close Close Search

How To Delete An Uber Driver Account

Our website is supported by our users. We sometimes earn affiliate links when you click through the affiliate links on our website

Driving for Uber can be an incredible job, whether it is your primary source of income or just a side gig.

But not all good things can last forever, and not all jobs are equally suitable for everyone.

So when it comes time for you to move on, what does it look like to “quit” when the job was gig-based in the first place?

One of the most significant parts of that process is deleting an Uber driver account—it can be confusing and entail questions, obstacles, and disorientation.

But no need to fret, we have all the answers you need to navigate the process below.

How To Delete an Uber Driver Account

Here is how you can delete your Uber Driver account.

First, navigate to either the Uber Driver app or this link on their website.

Then, if you choose to use the website, simply sign in to your Uber Driver account and follow the instructions provided.

If you want to go about this through the Uber app, first tap on the three-line menu icon in the top left of the window.

Scroll to the bottom of the menu and tap on “Help.”

Then, depending on your version of the app, you should see an option labeled “Account Settings” or “Account and Payment”—tap on that, then “Changing Account Settings.”

Towards the bottom of the next screen, there is an option labeled “Delete your account.”

When you tap delete, you will be directed to a screen with several questions for you.

The first two ask you which aspects of your Uber account you want to delete.

They do this by showing two fields labeled “Driver-partner account” and “Rider account.”

If you want to delete both accounts, type “yes” in both fields.

If you only want to delete one, type “yes” in the appropriate field.

Finally, you need to tell Uber why you’re deleting the account—whether you signed up as a mistake, don’t want to use it anymore, or accidentally have multiple accounts.

If your situation doesn’t correspond to any of those, you can also select “Other” and explain your reasoning in the text box they provide.

How To Delete an Uber Driver Account Without a Password

If you have lost your password and still need to delete your account, you can still follow all the steps described above; you just need to do one extra before all those: recover your password.

Uber offers several ways to do this, mainly by either phone or email.

As with deleting your account writ large, Uber provides ways to do this via both the website and their mobile app.

It’s significantly easier to do this via the app than deleting your account writ large—here, all you need to do is click “Forgotten Password” when signing in and follow the instructions given.

You should know that you will need access to either the email or the phone number you have connected to the account.

This is because Uber only deletes accounts if they have been able to verify that it is the genuine account holder trying to do so.

If you don’t have access to either form of communication, you may be out of luck, but it is worth contacting Uber support to see if you can do anything.

Questions About How To Delete an Uber Driver Account

Just learning about the process may not have given you the whole picture here, so if you still have questions, don’t worry!

We likely have the answers you need.

Can I Delete My Uber Driver Account and Make a New One?

You are certainly allowed to delete your Uber driver account and make a new one, but it may not work out for you quite as well as you want it to.

If you are just trying to do so to resolve some kind of technical issue within your account, then you will be fine going in this direction.

But if you are trying to take this course of action out of a desire to distance yourself from your current account in some way—if you got suspended for a violation of Uber’s safety protocols or have received several low ratings—you may not be accepted when you re-apply to become a driver in making a new account.

Uber isn’t clear about the extent to which it includes a review of past employment with the company in its background checks, so it’s hard to tell what exactly would happen in this case.

But given that they have an application process that includes your personal information, you may well be discovered.

That likelihood of rejection increases significantly if Uber suspends you for violating safety protocols.

But, on the other hand, if it was just some bad ratings you’re trying to get away from, you may be able to get away with it—at least once or twice.

Are Uber Driver Accounts Deleted Permanently?

Fortunately, Uber driver accounts are only deleted permanently after the legal requirements in your area have been met.

Typically, that means after seven years.

But that time limit does vary between different places, so if you plan to try recovering the account, it would be wise to contact Uber support to find out exactly how long it is for you.

Once those requirements have taken place, the company will permanently disable your account, and you will be unable to reactivate or recover it.

That said, you will likely be able to create a new profile with them.

How Long Does It Take To Delete an Uber Driver Account?

It depends on the meaning of “delete.”

The deactivation process typically takes mere minutes.

Of course, that depends on your internet quality, as well as whether your verification code gets lost in your email.

But, all in all, it should not take longer than half an hour.

If you’re wondering how long it takes the company to permanently delete the accounts of its former employees from the Uber server, that takes much longer.

It varies by area (different places have different legal requirements on this), but generally, it takes the company seven years before it permanently deletes your account.

Troubleshooting: Why Can’t I Delete My Uber Account?

If you encounter trouble when deleting your Uber driver account, your best option is to reach out to the company’s customer support.

If you find yourself unable to complete the account deletion process, there is likely a significant issue with your account that will require personally walking through the issue with customer service.

The most likely problem here is trouble with obtaining the verification code Uber is sending you.

If you sent the code to your email, make sure you have checked your junk or spam folder before reaching out to customer support.

If you use an email software with an “All Mail” functionality that allows you to view your messages outside their folders, checking that can be especially useful here.

Deleting Your Uber Driver Account – Final Thoughts

As you can see, deleting your Uber Driver account does not need to be a stressful activity.

Just be sure to follow our step-by-step guide, and you should be able to deactivate your account in no time.

But if you do encounter any trouble, please don’t hesitate to reach out to Uber support.

Leave a Comment

Similar Articles

View All