You’ve decided that you want to delete your Grubhub account.
That’s understandable, as there are many reasons exist for wanting to do so.
In that case, who wants their personal information floating around in the ether?
However, before you delete your account, you should understand the ramifications.
In this article, we will walk you through the process of how to delete Grubhub accounts and explain what happens when you do.
Table Of Contents
Can You Delete Your Grubhub Account?
Yes, you can delete your Grubhub account.
However, it’s not as simple as some of the other platforms out there.
On many platforms, you log into your account on their website.
Once logged in, you’ll typically click on an “Account” tab and then select “Settings.”
From there, you would scroll down to the bottom of the page and click on the “Delete Account” button.
However, Grubhub’s process for account deletion isn’t as straightforward.
What Happens When You Delete a Grubhub Account?
When you delete your Grubhub account, all your personal information gets removed from the Grubhub system, including your name, address, phone number, email address, and payment information.
In other words, everything that Grubhub knows about you disappears.
Why Delete Your Grubhub Account
You might want to delete your Grubhub account for a variety of reasons.
1. Kicked Off the App
One reason you might delete your Grubhub account is after getting kicked off the app.
It can happen for several reasons, such as not completing orders on time or having too many customer complaints.
If you’re kicked off the app, you probably won’t want to keep your account.
2. Using a Different Delivery Service
Another reason you might delete your account is if you’re using a Grubhub alternative, which isn’t necessarily because you don’t like Grubhub.
But, perhaps the other service offers more opportunities or is closer to where you live.
There’s no shame in switching delivery services.
It doesn’t mean that you have to delete your Grubhub account.
But if you find that you’re no longer using Grubhub, then it might make sense to delete the account.
3. No Longer Driving for Grubhub
Another reason you might delete your account is if you’re no longer driving for Grubhub.
Maybe you found a better gig with Uber Eats, for example, or you’re just taking a break from driving altogether.
In any case, if you’re not using your Grubhub driver account, then there’s no need to keep it.
When You Delete Your Grubhub Account Is It Permanent?
When you delete your Grubhub account, it is permanent.
Once you delete your account, you can’t recover any of your information.
For drivers, this includes profile information, order history, and earnings.
For customers, they will lose all account details, order history, rewards or loyalty points, one-click “reorder now” history, and any Grubub credits.
If you delete your account, you’re starting from scratch if you ever want to use Grubhub again.
Grubhub Account Deletion Policy
Grubhub has a delete account policy that you can find here.
How To Delete a Grubhub Account
You can use one of three methods to delete your Grubhub account.
The first way is to use the company data deletion page.
If you don’t want to do it that way, you can email their customer service team.
Some people prefer to talk to someone when taking drastic action like deleting accounts.
We’ll show you how to do it that way as well.
Before you delete your account, you might want to first find out about the specific information Grubhub holds inside the account.
You can find out by visiting Grubhub’s data privacy page here.
On that page, you’ll find three options for managing your Grubhub data.
- Order a copy of personal information on file
- Gain understanding about the type of personal data Grubhub collects
- Delete your account
You’ll see a link that says “Submit a request” underneath each of these options.
Use the first two options for more understanding about what Grubhub knows about you before deleting your account.
You can’t use the first option to get a copy of your personal information after deleting your account.
The second option helps you better understand how Grubhub may have already shared your personal information with various third parties.
If you’re sure that you want to delete your Grubhub account, then follow the instructions below about using the third option on the data privacy page.
1. Data Deletion Page
The first step to delete your Grubhub account is to go to the data deletion page.
Read the text on this page to fully understand the ramifications of deleting a Grubhub account.
When you’re ready to complete the deletion process, click on the “Submit Request” button.
You’ll see a popup appear after clicking on the “request” button. The popup says, “Are you sure you want to delete your account?”
It also re-states that deleting a Grubhub account results in losing all personal account information.
Further, it states that there’s no way to recover your data or undo the deletion after it gets processed by customer support.
Are you sure you want to delete the account?
If so, click on the blue “Delete” button that you’ll see on the popup message.
If you change your mind at this point, you can click on the white button with blue letters that says, “Cancel.”
Once you submit the button to delete your Grubhub account, you need to look for a verification email.
If you don’t see the email that verifies account deletion, you should contact the Grubhub customer support team for clarification.
2. Contact Customer Service
If you’d rather not depend on the data deletion page, you can contact the Grubhub customer service team to delete your account.
You have two options when dealing with customer support.
- Email contact
- Telephone contact
Emailing customer support takes about two to three days to complete the Grubhub account deletion process.
Use this email to contact Grubhub support: firstname.lastname@example.org.
You should use the email account associated with your Grubhub account when emailing their support staff.
It makes it easier for customer service to identify your account.
Of course, you can email from a different email address.
If you do, ensure to explicitly layout which email address you used when creating your Grubhub account.
Here are three potential subject lines to use when emailing customer service.
- Delete my Grubhub account
- Grubhub account deletion request
- Official request: Please delete my Grubhub account
If you’re unsure how to write the email, here’s a sample template to work from.
To Grubhub Customer Support,
I have an account with your company.
The email associated with my account is (insert your email address here).
The name on my account is (insert your full name here).
I don’t need to use my account any longer.
I officially request that you delete my account for me.
Please remove the account and all my personal information from your database.
As well, I request that you stop sending any communication or advertisements to my email address following the account deletion.
Please let me know when you’re done deleting my account from your system.
You can contact me for this purpose by replying to this email or by calling me at (insert your phone number).
(Enter Your Name)
Alternatively, you might want to call the Grubhub customer support team to cancel your account.
If you’d rather use this method, use this number to make telephone contact: (877) 585-1085.
How to Pause Your GrubHub Account
Maybe you don’t want to permanently delete all of the information from Grubhub’s system.
You may want to stop paying for the service for a certain period.
If that sounds better to you, all you need to do is pause the account.
In essence, you’re canceling your account while keeping your options open to come back again.
Here’s how to do that.
Step by Step Instructions
- Login to your Grubhub account
- Click on “Settings”
- Click on “Billing and Payments”
- Click on the link: “To temporarily stop your service, please click here.”
- A message will appear that reads, “We’re sorry to see you go!” The message will also say that you can reactivate the account at any time.
When you’re ready to come back to Grubhub, open the Grubhub app or log in from the Grubhub website.
Click on “Reactivate Account”.
Grubhub will redirect you to the reactivation page.
Verify that you want to get your account active again.
You’ll do this by clicking on your preferred payment method.
Next, you’ll see a message that reads, “Welcome back!”
You can begin using your account again as normal.
Deleting or pausing your Grubhub account is simple.
Although you need to jump through a few hoops, the steps are straightforward.
Remember, when you delete your Grubhub account, all data goes away permanently.