Moving on From Uber: How to Delete Uber Account for Riders and Drivers

Uber doesn’t exactly have a clean reputation.

You’ve heard the complaints from drivers: Low pay. Long hours. Inadequate support. You’ve probably also heard the complaints from riders and other consumers: Extreme surge prices. Rude drivers. Questionable safety. Drivers and riders alike have boycotted Uber for numerous reasons over the years, and strikes are still continuing.

If you’re here, you likely have your own concerns that are making you question your loyalty to the rideshare platform, too. So when is it really time to say goodbye?

Keep reading to figure out the answer to that question, learn how to delete your account, and find alternatives for your rideshare needs.

Jump to:

Before You Delete Your Account

pasted image 0 6

Deleting your Uber account isn’t difficult, but it’s a hassle to reverse if you change your mind. Take a moment to consider your reasons for leaving before you make the ultimate decision.

If you’re simply frustrated by the amount of communication you get, or you’re not active enough on the platform, consider these alternatives to account deletion:

  • Removing the app from your phone
  • Unsubscribing from email updates on Uber.com
  • Unsubscribing from text messages by texting STOP to +1 (415) 237-0403
  • Turning off push notifications by opening your phone’s settings section, selecting the Uber app, and updating your notification preferences

Had a bad experience? Uber provides multiple channels for riders to report different situations, from trip issues to incorrect charges. If you’re a driver, Uber offers in-person and online support, focused on empowering you to keep driving.

If you’re unwilling to use the platform for reasons Uber isn’t likely to resolve anytime soon — such as its history of poor driver treatment or high prices and low wages — moving forward with account deletion may be an appropriate choice. Just be aware that your Uber Cash, promotional bonuses, and more may be affected.

Deleting Your Uber Account

Riders and drivers each have unique account deletion processes they must follow, but both are simple and efficient. Here, we’ll cover both bases with a walkthrough you can easily follow.

Riders

Riders have the option to delete their Uber account via iPhone, Android, or desktop web browser. Doing so via smartphone is the quickest option available, and only requires the following steps:

1. Tap the menu icon on the upper left hand corner of your app and select “Settings.”

How to delete Uber account step 1

2. Scroll down to tap “Privacy.”

3. Once you’re in your privacy settings, you’ll see “Delete Your Account” in red text at the bottom of the screen. Tap the text and confirm deactivation.

How to delete Uber account step 2

If you prefer using your desktop, head to this page and click “Delete My Uber Account.” You’ll be prompted to log in to your account and asked to confirm deletion. If you’d like to leave feedback for Uber about your bad experiences or other reasons for deactivation, the form will allow you to do so.

Your account will be permanently removed after 30 days of deactivation, but if you want to increase the security of your deletion, you can delete your payment information by doing the following:

  1. Select “Payment” on your Uber app menu
  2. Tap the saved payment option you want to delete
  3. Tap the three dots on the upper right hand corner and select delete. Confirm deletion and Uber will remove the payment method.

For security reasons and important communication needs, some personal information cannot be removed before deleting your Uber account. This includes your full name, email address, and phone number. However, you can rest assured that your information will be securely removed following deactivation, and only legally required or permitted information will remain in their system.

Drivers

View of a driver from the backseat

As an Uber driver, you only have one method of deleting your account, but it’s just as simple as deleting a rider account.

All you need to do is sign in to your account, go to Uber’s “I want to delete my account” page, and submit a reason for account deletion. Filling out the form should only take a minute, but be aware that you’ll likely have a waiting period before your deactivation is confirmed. This is to ensure a staff member can properly contact you, confirm your payments are covered in full, and verify that your tax information is correct before any permanent action is taken.

Other Rideshare Options

Phone with Lyft app on it

If you dislike Uber but still love rideshare in general, there are a handful of companies that offer similar services for riders and comparable opportunities for drivers.

Lyft is easily the most popular and widely available, and Uber’s primary competitor. If your main concern is Uber’s level of support, this could be your go-to platform. In the midst of Uber controversies, Lyft has emerged with a better reputation for customer service and driver communication.

However, if you’re looking for a wholly different user experience, you may want to look elsewhere. Lyft and Uber are incredibly similar in most regards, depending on your rideshare priorities.

Via is another rising competitor in the rideshare industry. This alternative blends public transportation and UberPool to help riders save time and money, and help drivers earn. Via is only available in a small number of cities, but is growing and distinctly different from Lyft and Uber.

If you want to go back to the old-school days of riding taxis on a meter, Curb is another rising app that connects riders to traditional taxis on a convenient app for a cashless experience. Only professional taxi drivers can earn with the Curb Driver app. However, if you were an Uber Taxi or Uber Cab driver before leaving the Uber Driver platform, you’re likely qualified to join Curb.

Frequently Asked Questions

Hand on steering wheel

Now that you’re prepared to tap “delete,” you may have a few questions to be extra sure that deactivation is for you. To help you out, we’ve answered some frequently asked questions about how to delete Uber accounts, including what you can do in case you change your mind.

1. Can I call Uber for support?

Uber doesn’t offer a phone number, but it does offer drivers 24/7 phone support through the Uber Driver app, a feature that was created to improve the driving experience.

Unfortunately, riders do not have the option to speak to Uber team members directly from their phone. However, with many reliable options, including social media support and a help page that covers many common issues, your needs will likely be covered.

2. Does deleting my Uber account delete my Uber Eats account?

Yes, your Uber account is linked to both Uber and Uber Eats. If you still want to use Uber’s food delivery service, we recommend simply deleting your rideshare app instead of deleting your account. However, you can delete your Uber Driver account without affecting your rider and Uber Eats accounts.

3. Can I deposit my Uber Cash elsewhere before deleting my account?

No, Uber Cash cannot be transferred or used anywhere outside the Uber or Uber Eats apps. These Uber credits do not have an expiration date, but they are no longer accessible if you choose to fully deactivate your account. If you don’t want to lose your credits, we recommend using what remains of your Uber Cash to save on Uber services before deleting your account.

4. Can I recover my account if I change my mind?

Uber provides you with a 30-day deactivation period in which you can log in and recover your account. However, after this period, you account will be permanently deleted and you will no longer be able to access it at all. In order to use Uber’s rideshare or food delivery services after this period, you will need to create a brand new account.

Moving on to Your Next Ride

With your Uber account deleted and your rideshare preferences open to a new favorite, you can start comparing new platforms to determine which one is best for you. Many of these platforms provide bonuses for signing up as a rider or driver, so just know that you, as a consumer or independent contractor, are the one with the upper hand.

Use Lyft as your starting point now to get $50 in ride credits, or to claim big bonuses for signing up as a driver.