The last thing an Uber drivers wants to deal with before a trip is opening their driver account only to learn that an Uber deactivation has happened to them.
Uber sometimes sends out an email before they disable a driver account, but more often than not, the driver tries to log in with no luck, only to find out they’ve been disabled by support.
We’ve gotten quite a few questions about Uber drivers being deactivated recently, and after finding out about Uber’s deactivation rampage in New York recently, we figured we would put together a guide about what to do if it happens to you.
This guide will cover:
- What the deactivation process looks like
- How to tell if you’ve been deactivated
- Why drivers get deactivated
- How to reactivate your account
- Tips to ensure you DON’T get deactivated
Let’s dive right in.
Uber Deactivation: Can’t Log In
My Uber account has been cancelled a few times in the past three years, and I can tell you, it’s a frustrating process. Whether you’re trying to go online, or just taking a ride, it’s never fun.
The Uber partner deactivation process is pretty straightforward: either a support representative will reach out and let you know your account has been disabled, or you just won’t be able to log into the Uber Partner driver portal. Either way, you can’t get online.
According to a popular ridesharing site, common error messages displayed in the Uber Partner app if you’ve been deactivated will include:
Sometimes the cause of your deactivation can be easily fixed. In these cases, reactivating your Uber account is simple.
- Documents: upload necessary documents
- Low ratings: email Uber and ask if you can take a claass to be reactivated
- Inactivity: email support and let them know you’d like to drive again
- Other reason: ask Uber to reactivate you. Sometimes this works
However, there are a couple instances where an Uber account reactivation may NOT be feasible.
Uber takes a very hard stance against sexual harassment and driving under the influence, among other issues. If you’ve been deactivated for an issue related to either of these, your future driving with Uber is incredibly bleak.
- Driving under the influence
- Stalking a passenger
- Outright trip or referral fraud
- other serious passenger complaints
My Uber Rating
If you aren’t deactivated yet, it’s important to stay that way. All drivers should periodically check their ratings to ensure good standing.
Checking an Uber rating is pretty simple with the new update to the app.
Open the Uber partner app, then look at the bottom menu bar, then look for the tab titled “Ratings”.
Clicking on that tab will pull up a bunch of information related to your rating, including the overall driver rating, acceptance rate, and cancellation rate. This section also includes other feedback such as rider compliments, rider feedback, and tips for best practices on how to improve your rating.
I may get roasted for saying this, but overall I think it’s pretty simple to maintain a good account standing and avoid Uber deactivation on your driver account. A lot of the most common reasons for getting deactivated are common sense, and with a little foresight drivers can avoid most problems.
If you do find yourself on the wrong side of the spectrum, however, it’s important to remain calm and reach out to Uber for clarification. After all, support is here to help and will do everything they can do get you reactivated and back on the road.
Have you been deactivated by Uber? What are your thoughts on Uber deactivation tips? What did you do to successfully reactivate your account?Note: There is a rating embedded within this post, please visit this post to rate it.
This post was last modified on October 29, 2017, 11:17 pm