Close Close Search

How To Cancel Uber One In 2022

Our website is supported by our users. We sometimes earn affiliate links when you click through the affiliate links on our website

If you’re a frequent user of Uber for rides and eligible deliveries, it’s worthwhile to look into an Uber One membership (formerly Uber Eats Pass).

However, it’s also a good idea to understand their cancellation and refund policies before taking the plunge.

Read on to learn more about how to cancel Uber One and the steps needed to cancel if you don’t want it after giving it a try.  

An Overview of Uber One

Are you curious about Uber One and want more information about the program and cancellation fees before committing?

If so, read on to learn what to expect.    

What Is Uber One?

Uber One membership gives you perks and discounts for Uber-related services:

  • Discounts on rides, some deliveries, and other Uber services
  • Uber Cash bonus if the latest arrival estimate is incorrect (Uber One Promise)
  • No delivery fee for eligible food, grocery, alcohol, and other deliveries
  • Top-rated drivers
  • Special offers and promotions
  • Premium support
  • Invite-only experiences

How Does Uber One Work?

To become a member, all you have to do is pay a monthly or yearly membership fee.

Then, you can use your benefits any time you use an Uber service in the USA.

The membership auto-renews monthly or yearly (depending on your membership type).  

Membership savings don’t give you physical money.

Instead, Uber One applies discounts by reducing your service fees.

To reap the benefits, all you have to do is use your membership in relation to an eligible order:

  • Non-grocery delivery: With a $15 minimum order, you’ll have a $0 delivery fee and save 5% off the delivery cost. You must be 21 years+ to accept alcohol delivery.
  • Grocery delivery: With a $30 minimum order, you’ll have a $0 delivery fee (5% off delivery cost doesn’t apply to grocery store deliveries).
  • Rides: A 5% discount is available for any ride except shared rides or rides booked 30+ minutes in advance.
  • Uber One Promise: $5 in Uber Cash is available only if the latest arrival estimate after you complete your order is incorrect.

Uber One will also contact you about special offers, promotions, and invite-only experiences.

So, if you’re thinking about joining, it’s a good idea to do a little math to see if it will save you money.

Frequent Uber riders will enjoy the discount.

You’re also not likely to regret your membership if you spend more than the monthly membership fee on delivery fees each month.

But what if you decide the membership isn’t for you and decide you want to cancel your membership later?

Can You Cancel Uber One?

Yes, you can cancel Uber One f you decide you don’t want to keep it.

First, however, you need to understand Uber’s cancellation policy for renewable memberships.

Canceling on time will ensure that you don’t get billed for an extra membership period.

Uber One Cancellation Policy

Your membership will renew automatically based on your initial purchase date.

The renewal date will be a month later for a monthly membership or a year later for a yearly membership.

If you don’t want your membership to renew monthly or yearly, you must cancel the membership.

You can cancel your membership any time 48 hours before your next billing day.

You will continue to have access to all your Uber One member benefits until the end of the billing period.

If you’re not sure if an Uber One membership would be beneficial to you, it may also be possible to get a free trial or some other promotional subscription.

Your membership will automatically renew if you provided payment details when starting your free trial or promotional membership.

Canceling it in time will prevent charges you don’t want.

The cancellation policy for a trial or promotional subscription membership is the same as for regular membership.

If you have a free trial or other promotional subscription, you must cancel the membership 48 hours or more before the end of the trial or promotional subscription.

Otherwise, your membership will automatically renew.

How To Cancel Uber One

The easiest way to cancel Uber One is within the Uber App.

But, if that method doesn’t work for you, you can contact customer support chat through their website.

Cancel Uber One Using the Uber App

The Uber app makes canceling Uber One simple and should only take a couple of minutes.

Here are the steps you should follow to cancel your Uber One membership in the Uber App on your mobile device:

  1. Log in to the Uber app on your mobile device.
  2. Tap on your profile icon.
  3. Go to the Uber One section of the app.
  4. Scroll down and select Manage Membership.
  5. Select Leave Uber One.
  6. Confirm your desire to cancel your membership.

Your membership and membership privileges will end at the end of the current billing cycle.

Cancel Uber One Using a Computer

Uber Customer Support can help you through chat if you have a question about or need help with canceling your Uber One membership.

To contact customer support through your computer, you should follow these steps:

  1. First, log in to your Uber account online.
  2. Next, go to the information page on Uber’s website about canceling your Uber One membership.
  3. Finally, click “Chat With Us.”

Customer service can then guide you through any steps you need to take to ensure an end to your membership.

Do You Get a Refund If You Cancel Uber One?

Unfortunately, it is not possible to get a refund if you cancel Uber One.

If you cancel in the middle of a billing cycle, there is no way to prorate your membership cost or get a refund, even if you have a year-long membership.

So, if you are thinking about getting an Uber One membership, it may be a good idea to start with a monthly plan rather than a yearly plan.

Committing to monthly billing allows you to cancel before the next month instead of paying for an entire year of service and having regrets.

What Type of Refund to Expect

You shouldn’t expect any type of refund after you cancel Uber One because all payments are non-refundable.

Even if you paid for an entire year and canceled on day two, you still wouldn’t get a refund or have your membership fee prorated.

Instead, you’d simply get the benefits for the rest of your paid membership period.

There are also no refunds available from Uber if an unwanted payment makes you overdraft your account.

How to Get a Refund After Canceling

There is no process by which you can get a refund after canceling.

Final Thoughts on Canceling Uber One

You can cancel Uber One membership in two ways.

One way is through the Uber One section of your Uber app.

The other way is by contacting customer service via chat.

However, don’t forget to cancel within 48 hours of the start of your next billing cycle if you don’t want to pay for an extra month.

Even after you cancel the membership, you can continue to use it until the very end of the current billing cycle.

Knowing the Uber One Cancellation policy and that no refunds are available mid-cycle can help you decide whether to commit for a month or a year.

If you’re on the fence about trying Uber One, go ahead and give it a try since it’s easy to cancel.

Leave a Comment

Similar Articles

View All